top of page

How to Make a Bed in an RV

To some people, the title of this post probably sounds odd and very common sense. Who doesn't know how to make a bed? Let me tell you...the struggle is very real in some rigs!

Making an RV bed

As I sit writing this, I have a smile on my face--not because I find it amusing that I'm writing about such a topic, but rather that I cannot even count the number of injuries that have occurred from making our beds!


You see, my husband is 6'7", and we are in 26 feet of living space, along with our two boys. It's not the space we are in that's the issue here. The issue is my husband's height.

K.B. Hardy, 4 Nuts in a Shell

We had to build a custom bed ourselves that he would fit on (which ended up being a king-sized bed), that would also fold into a couch, as we have no bedroom (as many folks don't). Our idea was genius...for a while. We grabbed plywood and boards, cut them down, screwed them together and put a piano hinge in the center so it would fold over like a book--the base becoming our armrests. Smart, right?


What we hadn't considered was where our 2 twin mattresses, 2 mattress pads, and bedding would go when it wasn't a bed!

4 Nuts in a Shell, our rig, rv

Because we have a driveable, we elected the front area of our rig for this. So every evening we slide the mattress pads down the hall (we use them for the couch seat), flip the bed over, and stand on it to get the mattresses and other bedding off the front seats. It seems easy enough.


Again, my husband is 6'7" and our ceiling is 6'5" at best. So I, being 5'6", hop up there hunched over to do it. Here's the thing...spring filled mattresses are heavy when you have to lift them while standing bent in half.

Mattress springs

Imagine a flamingo lifting a huge rock on its back...that's kind of how it looks, only I use my arms obviously. The mattress shifts, I fall. I stand up strait, I whack my head on our air conditioner (which has never worked), one of the lights, or the ceiling itself.


We don't ask anymore if our heads have lumps on them, as we know it's the bed's fault haha.


Once the mattresses are down, we unroll our blankets on top and we're good to go until clean up in the morning.

Monique C. Seidler,  K.B. Hardy

So, the reason I said there were injuries earlier is because I threw my back out from lifting the mattresses and was laid up for 4 days, and my husband did the same, was laid up for 4 days, and is still not completely healed almost 2 months later!


Don't even get me started on our kids beds! When mattresses are crammed between a wall and a night stand, it's akin to playing a really bad round of badminton where you jump into the air for the birdie and whack your head on the pole holding the net up. Only sub out the birdie for the corner of a sheet, and the pole for the wall.

4 Nurs in a Shell

Like many before me have said, when it comes to RV beds, the struggle truly IS real!


To support us on our mission to purchase a new home for our family, please check out the links below. We offer quite a few books and courses to help us earn money to achieve this necessary goal.



The PYHOOYA Challenge (90 day challenge to change your life)



The Road to PYHOOYA (life changing paperback)


The Road to PYHOOYA (life changing ebook)


Operation PYHOOYA 365: Life By Design (rewrite your life paperback)


Operation PYHOOYA 365: Life By Design (rewrite your life ebook)


The Magic Pill (formula for a better life ebook)


PYHOOYA to Wellness (health guide ebook)


The Whole P.I.E (passive income empire course)


P.I.E For Beginners (passive income empire beginner course)


Blogging For Dollars (complete blogging course)


Also Visit:




Thank you all very much for being such a huge part of our lives!

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page